WILEF Certification emphasizes the leadership roles achieved by equity women partners, rather than the policies or practices of the firm or the overall number or percentage of women in the partnership. Law firms with 300 or more practicing lawyers in the United States are eligible for 2017 WILEF Gold Standard Certification if they successfully demonstrate that women represent a meaningful percentage of their equity partners, of their highest leadership positions, of their governance and compensation committees, of their most highly compensated partners and that there be meaningful diversity among their women partners. For 2017 Gold Standard Certification, a meaningful percentage means that the firm satisfies four or more of the following criteria:

  • 20% of equity partners or, alternatively, 33% or more of the attorneys becoming equity partners during the past twelve months are women
  • 15% of firm and U.S. branch office heads are women equity partners
  • 20% of the firm’s governance committee are women equity partners
  • 20% of the firm’s compensation committee or its equivalent are women equity partners
  • 25% of the firm’s practice group/department heads are women equity partners
  • 15% of the top half of the firm’s equity partners in terms of compensation are women
  • 7% of women equity partners are women of color or 3.5% of women equity partners are LGBT [NEW]

The WILEF 2017 Gold Standard Certification application was available on Monday, February 27, 2017. Requests for the application and questions should be made to WILEF’s Co-Founder and Global Chair, Elizabeth Anne “Betiayn” Tursi via email. Applications had to be received on or before June 1, 2017 for inclusion in the initial list of Gold Standard Firms to be published in mid-June, 2017 (no extensions will be granted) or by December 12, 2017 for 2017 Gold Standard Certification.

(as of June 1, 2017)

Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer*******
Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell & Berkowitz, PC*****
Ballard Spahr LLP*
Bryan Cave LLP****
Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC*******
Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP***
Davis Wright & Tremaine LLP* 
Dentons US LLP***
Dorsey & Whitney*****
DLA Piper LLP (US)***
Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP*******
Faegre Baker Daniels*****
Frost Brown Todd LLC***
Haynes and Boone, LLP**
Hogan Lovells*** 
Holland & Hart*****
Holland & Knight LLP*
Hughes Hubbard & Reed*
Jackson Lewis P.C**.
Jenner & Block LLP****
K&L Gates LLP**
Kutak Rock LLP******
Latham & Watkins LLP**

Littler Mendelson* 
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP*
McCarter & English, LLP*
Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP*****
Morrison & Foerster LLP*
Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C.******
O’Melveny & Myers*******
Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP***
Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP*****
Quarles & Brady LLP*
Reed Smith LLP*& 
Shearman & Sterling LLP***** 
Shook, Hardy & Bacon L.L.P.*& 
Sidley Austin LLP**
Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP**
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP*
Stinson Leonard Street* 
Stoel Rives LLP*
Thompson Coburn LLP****
Venable LLP*******
Womble Carlyle Sandridge & Rice, LLP******

Firms in bold met all seven criteria in 2017
*seven-time recertified 
**six-time recertified
*** five-time recertified
**** four-time recertified
*****three-time recertified
******two-time recertified
&seven-time certified in all criteria